Turning the screw

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to be blogging quite a bit about Benjamin Britten’s Turn of the Screw and the Henry James novella that served as the basis for its libretto. (To make the distinction between the two a little clearer, I’ll use italics when referring to the opera and quotation marks for James’s tale.)  I’m interested in exploring some of the areas that have struck me most about the story and Britten’s operatic treatment of it, and in providing a little additional background information for both versions. If there’s something you’d like me to cover, please drop me a line or send me a comment. (And don’t worry–I promise to post non-Screw-related items too.)

I’ll get things started tomorrow with a brief synopsis of the story and a few observations about its complex critical reception.

Leave a comment

Filed under Turn of the Screw

Leave a Reply

